Summer Essentials

June is in full effect and has been raining on our parade ever since.  Tropical Storm Adrian even crashed the party.  She claimed the life of a baby cherry tomato plant. Just a baby…

Aside from all the rain, I am anticipating my first summer in the city.   I don’t even know what that means.  But I don’t think there will be too many sun kissed beach days and I’m ok with that.  Really, I am.  Florida beckons the elderly anyway.  I can drive with the rest of ’em during my snowbird golden years.

Aside from all the rain and minimal sunshine, grilling out is one of the best parts about summer.  The smell of charcoal is intoxicating! (no really, it can be)

Here’s what’s been cookin’ over yonder:

1. Grilled corn.  Do it. Eat it.  Love it. Repeat it.

2. Grilled pizza. (There is some skill to this.  It requires a very hot grill and one organized chef.  You have a window of roughly 5-7 minutes to assemble everything or burnt pizza is on the menu)

3. Grilled pork tenderloin.  I now know how I like my pork. GRILLED!  Marinated the night before and carefully char-grilled to perfection.

4. Grilled fruit.  Pineapple, peaches, figs, kiwi… you name it.  My mouth is watering… Create some kabobs and serve with vanilla ice cream with a drizzle of honey.  Stop it.

Which of these would you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

